2018 Award Winners

Congratulations to our 2018 award winners!

Each year, NATA honors the hard work and dedication of its outstanding members through our award program. The individuals who earn these recognitions have devoted their time, energy and talents to the betterment of the athletic training profession.

Winners will be honored at the 69th Annual NATA Clinical Symposia & AT Expo June 26-28 in New Orleans. 


Hall of Fame


Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer

  • Kellie C. Huxel Bliven, PhD, ATC
  • Lorin A. Cartwright, MS, ATC, CAA
  • Neil Curtis, EdD, LAT, ATC
  • Stephen D. Donohue, ATC
  • Scott Lawrance, ATC
  • Linda S. Levy, EdD, ATC
  • Dani M. Moffit, PhD, LAT, ATC
  • Forrest Q. Pecha, MS, ATC, LAT
  • Stacey J. Ritter, MS, ATC
  • Matthew Rothbard, EdD, ATC
  • LesLee Taylor, PhD, LAT, ATC
  • Patricia M. Tripp, PhD, LAT, ATC, CSCS
  • Lisa Walker, ATC


Athletic Trainer Service Award

  • Timothy Acklin, ATC, LAT
  • Barton E. Anderson, DHSc, AT, ATC
  • Scott A. Arceneaux, ATC
  • Timothy Atkinson, MEd, ATC
  • Kurt R. Behrhorst, ATC
  • Mark Bohling, MS, ATC, LAT
  • Debbie Bradney, DPE, ATC
  • Scott Byrd, LAT, ATC
  • Robert Cable, MS, ATC, NREMTB
  • Jennifer Carrol, PA-C, ATC, MA, MMS
  • Joseph W. Cunnane, MS Ed, ATC
  • Christopher Dean, BS, LAT, ATC
  • John Doherty, MS, ATC, PT
  • Christina M. Emrich, MS, LAT, ATC
  • Shawn D. Felton, EdD, LAT, ATC
  • Thomas Ford, MS, AT Ret, CSCS
  • Daryl Funai, MEd, ATC
  • Greg Gardner, EdD, LAT, ATC
  • Keith M. Gorse, EdD, LAT, ATC
  • Dale F. Grooms, ATC
  • Grady Jonathan Hardeman, MEd, LAT, ATC
  • Brian Hatzel, PhD, AT, ATC
  • Scott Heinerichs, EdD, AT
  • Troy C. Hershman, MS, ATC, LAT
  • Kasee Hildenbrand, PhD, LAT, ATC
  • Troy Hoehn, ATR, ATC, CSCS, ITAT
  • J. Ty Hopkins, PhD, ATC
  • Chris King, ATC
  • Danielle Kleber, ATC
  • Michele Klucar-Monaco, DSc, ATC
  • Justin H. Miller, MS, LAT, ATC
  • Erik Nason, MBA, MS, LAT, ATC, CSCS
  • Eric D. Nussbaum, MEd, LAT, ATC
  • Vince O'Brien, ATC
  • Gretchen Schlabach, PhD, ATC
  • Eric A. Schwartz,MEd, ATC
  • John J. Smith, MS, ATC
  • Carla E. Stoddard, MS, LAT, ATC
  • Kristen M Streeter, MS, ATC, PES
  • William F. Taylor, III MEd, LAT, ATC
  • Timothy Ward Tourville, PhD, ATC
  • Alison R. Snyder Valier, PhD, ATC, FNATA
  • Diane Scotti Vermaelen, ATC, LAT, PTA
  • Don Watt, ATC
  • Christopher White, MS, LAT,ATC
  • Laurie White, MS, ATC


Eve Becker-Doyle Leadership Award

  • Chuck Kimmel, LAT, ATC



  • Cathleen Brown Crowell, PhD, ATC


Gail Weldon Award of Excellence

  • Gretchen Schlabach, PhD, ATC


Jack Weakley Award of Distinction

  • Peter Indelicato, MD


Honorary Members

  • Ned Amendola, MD
  • E. Lyle Cain, MD
  • Walter "Wally" Collins
  • S. Wendell Holmes, MD
  • Sharri Jackson


AOSSM Distinguished Athletic Trainer Award

  • Robert Kersey, PhD, ATC 


Intercollegiate Council for Sports Medicine Awards

  • Above & Beyond Award: Andy Mutnan, MEd, ATC
  • New Horizon Athletic Trainer: Brian Vesci, MA, ATC
  • Head AT of the Year – Division I: Jeffrey Allen, MEd, ATC
  • Head AT of the Year – Division II: Rae Emrick, MS, ATC, CSCS
  • Head AT of the Year – Division III: Stephen Cage, MEd, ATC, LAT
  • Head AT of the Year – Community/Junior College: Diana Carey, ATC
  • Head AT of the Year – Club, IM and Rec Sports: Katherine Moos, MA, ATC, ITAT
  • Staff Athletic Trainer of the Year: Dan Monthley, MS, ATC


EDAC Bill Chisolm Professional Service Award

  • Scottie Patton, MA, ATC


International Awards

  • International Partner Award: World Federation of Athletic Training & Therapy
  • International Service Awards:
    • Paul Newman
    • Yoshizumi Iwasaki


Young Professionals’ Committee National Distinction Award

  • Cailee Welch Bacon, PhD, ATC


SAAC Excellence in Leadership Award

  • John L. "Doc" Moyer, LAT, ATC
  • Darryl T. Funai, MEd, ATC
  • Andrew Llaguno, MSEd, ATC, CSCS


SAAC Emerging Leader Award

  • Gina Biviano, MA, ATC


Professional Responsibility in Athletic Training Award for Distinction in the Advancement of Legal, Ethical and Regulatory Issues

  • Jeff McKibbin, MEd, ATC
  • Matthew Mitten


Preceptor of the Year

  • Heather Murphy, ATC


Sayers "Bud" Miller Distinguished Educator Award

  • James Scifers, DScPT, ATC, LAT


Professional Development Excellence Award

  • Erik Swartz, PhD, ATC, FNATA


Emerging Educator Award

  • Laura Kunkel, EdD, ATC, PES


Secondary School Servants’ Heart Award

  • Jennifer Armstrong, MS, ATC
  • Hal Hilmer, MA, ATC
  • Tommy Blanco, MAT, ATC
  • Dale Blair, MS, ATC, CSCS


Athletic Training Advocate Award

  • Jeff Miller, National Football League


Gatorade Secondary School Athletic Trainer Awards

  • Eric Gelinas, MS, ATC, NHLAT
  • Rachel Dean, ATC
  • Jennifer Armstrong, MS, ATC
  • Kim Barber-Foss, MS, ATC, LAT
  • Dan Newman MS, LAT, ATC
  • Thomas Woods, MS, Med, LAT, ATC
  • Suzie Squires MS, ATC
  • Holli Jackson MS, ATC
  • Erika Miller MS, ATC, LAT
  • Amy West MAT, ATC


Jack Cramer Scholarship

  • Joshua Early


Daniel L. Campbell Legislative Awards 

  • Class I: Connecticut Athletic Trainers Association
  • Class II: Oklahoma Athletic Trainers Association


William T. Griffin Award for Outstanding Leadership in Legislative Advocacy

  • Mark Peters, MA, ATC, CSCS


Impact Advocacy Award

  • Dominique Ross, PhD, ATC 


Journal of Athletic Training Kenneth L. Knight Award for the Outstanding Research Manuscript

“Predicting Recovery Patterns After Sport-Related Concussion”

  • Elizabeth F. Teel, PhD, ATC
  • Stephen W. Marshall, PhD
  • Viswanathan Shankar, DrPH, MSc
  • Michael McCrea, PhD, ABPP
  • Kevin M. Guskiewicz, PhD, ATC, FNATA, FACSM


Journal of Athletic Training Clint Thompson Award for Clinical Practice Advancement

“Rehabilitation and Improvement of Health-Related Quality-of-Life Detriments in Individuals with Chronic Ankle Instability: A Meta-Analysis”

  • Cameron J. Powden, PhD, LAT, ATC
  • Johanna M. Hoch, PhD, ATC
  • Matthew C. Hoch, PhD, ATC


2017 Athletic Training Education Journal Outstanding Original Research Manuscript Award

“Sexual Harassment Training and Reporting in Athletic Training Students”

  • Jamie Mansell, PhD, ATC
  • Dani M. Moffit, PhD, ATC
  • Anne C. Russ, PhD, ATC
  • Justin N. Thorpe, PhD


2017 Athletic Training Education Journal Outstanding Manuscript for Advancing Educational Practice Award

“Athletic Training Preceptors’ Perceived Learning Needs Regarding Preceptor Development”

  • Dorice A. Hankemeier, PhD, ATC
  • Jessica L. Kirby, MSEd, ATC
  • Stacy E. Walker, PhD, ATC
  • Ashley B. Thrasher, EdD, ATC


NATA Research & Education Foundation Research Awards

  • New Investigator Award: Johna K. Register-Mihalik, PhD, LAT, ATC
  • The David H. Perrin Doctoral Dissertation Award: Mark Feger, PhD, ATC


NATA Research & Education Foundation Service Awards

  • New Initiative Service Award: Carolyn Peters, MA, ATC, CSCS
  • Lifetime Contribution Award: RT Floyd, EdD, ATC, CSCS
  • Foundation Volunteer Service Award: Tom Abdenour, DHSc, ATC, CES


National Athletic Training Month Public Relations Contest

  • Best Overall Campaign: Athletic Trainers’ Society of New Jersey
  • Best State Association Effort: North Carolina Athletic Trainers’ Association
  • Best AT Effort (Individual/Small Team): Trinity Sports Medicine
  • Best AT Effort (Group of 7 or More): Berks County Scholastic Athletic Trainers’ Association
  • Best Student Effort: University of Montana


Chuck Kimmel First-Time Attendee Award

  • Sarah Davis 
  • Marissa Figueroa
  • Iancarlo Morales 


Bobby Gunn Award

  • Sean O'Gara
  • Morgan Dumont
  • Michelle Yando
  • Madison Roskuska
  • Alexis Yelland
  • Tsung Yeh Chou
  • Jordawn Jones
  • Celine Estrada
  • Travis  Rousselle
  • Madelyn Barton