LGBTQ+ Advisory Committee


The mission of the LGBTQ+ Advisory Committee (LGBTQAC) is to advocate for an environment of inclusion, respect, equity and appreciation of differences in both athletic trainers and their diverse patient populations. The committee will identify, explore, address and provide educational resources regarding emerging topics and concerns relevant to diverse sexualities, gender identities and gender expressions within the profession and health care topics affecting patients in the LGBTQ+ community.

Note: The plus sign represents diverse sexualities, gender identities and gender expressions which may not be explicitly included in the LGBTQ acronym.


Committee Roster


Committee Chair
Rebecca M. Lopez, PhD, ATC, CSCS
University of South Florida
2022 (2022)

Incoming District 1 Representative
Rob Kearney, MEd, LAT
2023 (2026)

District 3 Representative
Kirk Armstrong, EdD, ATC
2022 (2025)

District 5 Representative
Emma Anita Nye, DAT, LAT, ATC
2022 (2022)

District 6 Representative
Meredith Decker, PhD, LAT, ATC
2022 (2024)

Incoming District 7 Representative
Kevin Schroeder, DAT, LAT, ATC
2023 (2026)

District 9 Representative
Amanda Tritsch, PhD, ATC, CSCS
2022 (2024)

BOD Liaison
Lyn H. Nakagawa, MS, ATC, CSCS

District 1 Representative, Incoming Chair
Jennifer J. Sturtevant, MBA, LAT, ATC
2022 (2022)


District 2 Representative
Ashley K Crossway, DAT, ATC
2022 (2023)

District 4 Representative
Lorin Cartwright, MS, ATC, CAA
2022 (2022)

Incoming District 5 Representative
Sean Michael Rogers, DAT, ATC
2023 (2026)

District 7 Representative
Glenn T. Edgerton, EdD, ATC
2022 (2022)

District 8 Representative
Meghan Wonderling, DPT, LAT, ATC
2022 (2025)

Student Representative
Larry Gipson II
2023 (2023)

Staff Liaison
Ruth Riggan