Tim Kerin Award

About Tim Kerin

Tim Kerin is remembered by many for his distinguished career as Head Athletic Trainer at University as Tennessee as well as his service to his community, university and profession. Tim served on the NATA Program and Convention Committees from 1979-1991, was a founding member of Knoxville’s Metropolitan Drug Commission, for which he served as president from 1987-1989, and chaired the SEATA Awards Committee from 1988-1992. He received a Chancellor’s Citation from the University of Tennessee in 1990, and the Southeast Athletic Trainers’ Association Award of Merit in 1992. In 1993 Kerin was inducted into the NATA Hall of Fame. Later that year the University of Tennessee officially dedicated “The Tim Kerin Training Room” in his honor and memory. In 2001 Kerin’s memory was again honored when he was inducted into the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame.


Tim Kerin Award

The Tim Kerin Award recognizes one individual each year for outstanding service by an athletic trainer. The award itself is shaped like a three-leaf clover. Each leaf represents one of Tim Kerin’s finest qualities: service, dedication and integrity. One recipient is selected annually by Gatorade and announced during the NATA Annual Meeting and Clinical Symposia.


Past Tim Kerin Award Recipients

  • 2014 Ron Courson
  • 2013 Kevin O’Neill
  • 2012 Gene Monohan, ATC
  • 2011 Sandy Miller, MEd, ATC
  • 2010 Steve Bair
  • 2009 Julie Max
  • 2008 Ron Culp
  • 2007 Lindsy McLean
  • 2006 Dean Weber
  • 2005 Tom Abdenour
  • 2004 Denny Miller
  • 2003 Karen Toburen
  • 2002 Dean Kleinschmidt
  • 2001 Jerry Rhea
  • 2000 Chris Patrick
  • 1999 Fred Hoover
  • 1998 Ronnie Barnes
  • 1997 Marje Albohm
  • 1996 Leroy Mullins
  • 1995 Otho Davis
  • 1994 George Sullivan
Share this