

GREAT LAKES ATHLETIC TRAINE

WOMEN IN ATHLETIC TR

DISTRICT 4

Debra Runkle First female Head Football ATC at Minnesota State University Mankato

Lorin Cartwright (N authored 1st exam textbool

<u>Study Guide for NATA Bo</u> <u>Certification, Inc.</u> <u>Entry-level Athletic Trainer Certification</u>

Rene' Revis Shingles (

1st female and 1st African A female app. chairperson of Ethnic Diversity Advisory

Katie Grove (IN

1st female app. By the NA To serve as chairperson WATC task force

1994

- Holly Wilson Greene (IN)

Served as chair to the 1st ad hoc Women in Athletic Training Committee (WATC)

> **Gail Weldon (WI)** 1st female to be on the Olympic Medical staff

1006

Katie Grove 1st fulltime female Athletic Trainer in state of Michigan at Eastern Michigan University

Lorin Cartwright (MI) Served as 1st female president of GLATA

1000

Marje Albohm (IN) elected female to the GLA

1st elected female to the GLATA Executive Council as Secretary-Treasurer

Cynthia "Sam" Bo Served as 1st liai the WATC Task

Gretchen Schlaba Served as 1st D4 rep to WATC task fo

District IV Pioneer Women of NATA (joined before 1980)

Judith Landrey (IN) Laura Field Rubesich (OH) Gretchen A. Schlabach (IL) Kathleen A. Schniedwind (IL) A Louise Seffens (MI) Rosemary Snyder (MI) Thereasa Angelo (OH) Jean Bagel (IL) LuAnn Sara Bauer (MI) Cheryl Birkhead (IL) Lori Callister (WI) Barbara H. Caton (IN) Mary L Donahue (MI) Christine Green (WI) Barbara Allie (IL)

Kimberly Ann Blackburn (OH) Linda Caldwell (MI) Lorin Cartwright (MI) Janet Deters (OH) Marianne Goshorn (IN) Pat Graman (OH) Jan Hershey (IL) Lynn E. Hoffman (OH) Lana Johnson (MN) Sally W. Hightower (MI) Donna Hull (OH) Anita Krieger (IL) Lisa Litzelman (IN) Julie Ness-Petersen (WI) Sally Shuster Shoff (MI)

Please submit corrections to NATAWomensHistory@gmail.com

CRS'ASSO	CIATION	MIN	NESOTA	
(MI) ok entitled Board of		NATA BOD votes to ch The women in Athletic T Task Force to the Wome Athletic Training Comr Katie Grove (IN) continue Its chairperson	raining en in nittee	
<pre>s. rtification Exam s (MI) American f the NATA y Council</pre> (N) NATA BOD on to the ce.		Gail Weldon (WI) 1 st women inducted in the NATA Hall of Fame Amy Armstrong Ba hired as 1 st woman hea Trainer for a men's p (Columbus Crew so	nd athletic ro team	Fo A E Pres
1 9	95 19	<mark>96 1</mark> 9	97 1 9	99
ooth (MN) aison to k Force	Cynthia "Sam" Booth (MN)KatieServed as 1st female District 4 DirectorElected the 1stKatie			fema
ach (IL) to the women Force	Elected the 1 st female president of the Illinois Athletic Trainers Association			
	1 st female	rje Albohlm (IN) e to receive the NATA shed Athletic Trainer Award	1st	L orin femal

Dorothy Tevis (MN) Marion Vruggink (IN) Denise Webster (MI) Holly Kasavana (MI) Karen Leigh (MN) Sr. Cathy Anne Lepore (IN) Susan Lynn (IL) Susan Lynn (IL) Susan Peel (MI) Marianne Porter-Noble (IL) Nancy Symens (MN) Jannell Tillman (MI) Debra Townsend (IL) Gail Hudash Wadley (OH) Susan Breister (MN) Sandra Bricker (OH)

Lori Thein Brody (WI) Lori Glover (MN) Mary Hajduk (IL) Desiree Hillmon (OH) Cathleen Jones (MI) Laura Kegerreis (IN) Heidi Matthews (IL) Carol Moss (MI) Janet Ochsenwald (WI) Angela Perusek (OH) Donnella Powelson (MI) Connie Pumpelly (IN) Mary L. Romanello (OH) Diane Slaughter (WI) Deborah Springer (MI)

OHIO

WISCONSIN



Marje Albohlm (IN) 1st female to receive the NATA Tim Kerin Award

Lorin Cartwright (MI) Authored the 1st textbook

For high school student aides Entitled <u>Athletic Training for Student</u> <u>Assistants</u> Lisa Shone 1st female recipient of the Athletic Trainer Service Award

Carole Humble (IL) 1st female recipient of the GLATA Golden Pinnacle Award

Ann Berry (MI) Elected the 1st female resident of the Michigan Athletic Trainers Association

Kim Peer (OH) 1st female recipient of the

GLATA Outstanding Educator Award

2000 2002 2009 2015

ove (IN) nale president of nletic Trainers ation Susan Finkam (IN) 1st recipient of the Gail Weldon Award presented by the WATC

kam (IN) airperson of the cal Industrial ttee (CIC) **Sam Booth (MN)** 1st female recipient of the DIV Most Distinguished

Athletic Trainer Award

n Cartwright (MI))

ale to receive the NATA rainer Service Award

> Sherrie L. Springer (MI) Terri J. Woods (IL) Jeanne Marie Brown (WI) Cynthia Finke (MN) Mary Ann Frontzak (IL) Margaret Knutson (MN) Mary Kruse (MN) Sally E. Nogle (MI) Lisa Obrecht (MI) Barbara Pearson (WI) Sally Silgar (OH) Megan Swift (WI) Linda Wappner (MI)