Resources for athletic training students

NATA offers several resources relevant to athletic training students including statistics, mentoring opportunities, scholarships and a national distinction award.

NATM Video Contest

As part of National Athletic Training Month in March, the NATA Student Leadership Committee will once again hold its annual video contest. Students will have the opportunity to promote the profession of athletic training by capturing the heart of the profession on film. This year, videos should be based on the 2017 NATM theme “Your protection is our priority.” The contest is open to any entry-level athletic training student. Submissions are due March 10. Late entries will not be eligible. Learn more about the Student Leadership Committee NATM Video Contest as well as other NATM resources offered by NATA.


Chuck Kimmel First-Time Attendee Award

To help more students attend the NATA Clinical Symposia & AT Expo, the NATA Student Leadership Committee is now offering the Chuck Kimmel First-Time Attendee Award. This award will provide a total of $2,000 in award money to two to four athletic training students who have never attended the annual convention. Chuck Kimmel First-Time Attendee Award applications are accepted between Feb. 15 and April 15.


NATA Research & Education Foundation Scholarships

The NATA Foundation Scholarship Program, which is managed by the Scholarship Committee, awards undergraduate, master’s and doctoral scholarships. The number of scholarships varies annually (from 50 to 75), with the amount of the award currently $2,300 per scholarship. Scholarship funding is secured through a variety of sources, including the organization’s endowment program, as well as through corporate and individual support. Scholarship winners are awarded during the Pinky Newell Scholarship and Student Leadership Breakfast at the NATA convention.




View and purchase more photos from the 2017 breakfast at NATA PhotoZone.


CAATE Accredited Educational Programs

The Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education (CAATE) is responsible for evaluating three different types of educational programs in athletic training: Professional Programs, Post-Professional Degree Programs and Post-Professional Residency Programs. The CAATE website offers a tool that allows you to search all of the accredited programs at each level. 


DeLoss Brubaker Undergraduate Student Writing Contest

The DeLoss Brubaker Undergraduate Student Writing Contest (USWC) was initiated to recognize early research-related projects from emerging investigators at the undergraduate level. The annual competition includes three categories, with an award being given to the top submission in each:

  • Best Original Research Paper ($500)
  • Case Study ($250)
  • Best Literature Review ($250)


Bobby Gunn Student Leadership Award

The Bobby Gunn Student Leadership Award was established to recognize one of the true pioneers in athletic training -- and to give deserving students assistance in attending the NATA Convention.


NATA Quiz Bowl

The NATA Quiz Bowl is an annual competition that takes place at the NATA convention. The event features ten teams, one representing each district, competing in a Jeopardy style format. Questions range from athletic training history to medical diagnoses.



View and purchase more photos from the 2017 Quiz Bowl at NATA PhotoZone.


 Quiz Bowl Winners


University of Texas at Arlington

  • Hillary Avila
  • Adam Greer
  • Ryan Kacvinsky

Washington State University

  • Ricky Ayala
  • Alee Bryan
  • Elias Whitefoot

University of LaVerne

  • Hope Allen
  • Nysa Allen
  • Anastacia Fraijo

California Baptist University

  • Corrie Bober
  • Kelsie Gartner
  • Naclaysia McGee

University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh

  • Steven Klein
  • Evan Schmidt
  • Dalton Venden

Keene State College

Northeastern University

  • Nicole Curry
  • Gretchen Dressel

University of Nevada, Las Vegas

  • Cody Bremner
  • Shun Jinnouchi
  • Christine Samson