

Contact:

Robin Waxenberg 212-489-8006 robin@robwax.com

## PRESS CONFERENCE SPEAKERS

## PRESENTATION OF RECOMMENDATIONS FROM "PRESEASON HEAT-ACCLIMATIZATION GUIDELINES FOR SECONDARY SCHOOL ATHLETICS" INTER-ASSOCIATION TASK FORCE CONSENSUS STATEMENT

## NATA Annual Meeting, June 18, 2009, San Antonio, Texas

**Douglas J. Casa**, PhD, ATC, FACSM, FNATA, is director of athletic training education, associate professor of kinesiology and research associate of the Human Performance Laboratory in the Neag School of Education at the University of Connecticut, in Storrs, Conn. He has published more than 75 peer-reviewed research publications and has given over 200 presentations specific to heat and hydration issues with athletes. He has been a member of the writing group for position statements on heat illness from the National Athletic Trainers' Association and American College of Sports Medicine. Casa is co-chair of the task force.

**David Csillan**, MS, LAT, ATC, has been an athletic trainer at Ewing High School in Ewing, N.J. since 1991. He is also the medical coordinator for the US Region 1 Boys' Olympic Development Soccer Camp and for various soccer tournaments throughout the state of New Jersey. In addition, he provides medical services to the ING New York City Marathon and the New Jersey Special Olympics. In 2004, Csillan was inducted into the New Jersey State Interscholastic Athletic Association/New Jersey State Coaches Association Hall of Fame. In 2008, he was inducted into the Athletic Trainers' Society of New Jersey Hall of Fame. Csillan is co-chair of the task force.

**Francis G. O'Connor**, MD, MPH, is associate professor at the Uniformed Services University and medical director for the Consortium on Health and Military Performance and has been a leader in sports medicine education and research for the military for more than 15 years. He is president-elect of the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine and will take office in 2010. O'Connor is the editor of four texts on sports medicine including the *Textbook of Running Medicine* and *Sports Medicine for the Primary care Physician 3rd Edition*. He is on the board of the American College of Sports Medicine, the American Medical Society for Sports Medical Society for Sports Medicine. He is a member of the task force.

**Paul S. Saenz**, DO, founded Sports Medicine Associates of San Antonio in 1992 and remains a partner in this practice. He is also the team physician for the San Antonio Spurs basketball team. Dr. Saenz was also instrumental in the concept and design of the Texas Center for Athletes, a 133,000 square foot facility in the heart of the South Texas Medical Center. Saenz is board certified in family practice by the American Osteopathic Board of Family Physicians and in sports medicine by the American Osteopathic Academy of Sports Medicine. His professional affiliations include membership in the Olympic Sports Medicine Society, fellowship in the American Osteopathic Academy of Sports Medicine and others at the state and national level.

**George "Iceman" Gervin** is a former player with the San Antonio Spurs basketball team and an NBA Hall of Fame member. He is the founder of the George Gervin Academy, a charter school in San Antonio. A champion of local youth safety, leadership and wellness programs, Gervin also founded the George Gervin Youth Center, which provides vocational training, remedial education, mentoring, tutoring, job placement and supportive services for over 1,400 of San Antonio's at-risk and disadvantaged youth and their families. While playing hoops with the Spurs, Gervin was named to the NBA 50th Anniversary All-Time Team in 1996 and was also inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. Gervin's playing record speaks volumes; in fact, only Wilt Chamberlain and Michael Jordan have won more league scoring championships than Gervin's four, plus he was the first guard ever to win three titles in a row.

Lynn Hickey is the athletic director at the University of Texas San Antonio (UTSA). Under Hickey's direction over the past nine years, UTSA has claimed three Southland Conference all-sports championships while consistently winning both team and individual awards in all 16 sports sponsored by the university. In 2007 Hickey was named to the NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Committee for a five-year term. The 10-member committee oversees administration of the NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Championship, including the selection and seeding of teams for the tournament. Hickey was the National Association of Collegiate Women Athletics Administrators 2005 Division I-AAA Administrator of the Year. She earned her second national award in June 2006 as the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA)/General Sports TURF Systems Division I-AAA West Region AD of the Year (ADOY). UTSA has announced it will start its football program in the fall of 2011.