NATA Twitter NATA YouTube Smugmug NATA Facebook
Dates n Deadlines
2010 Annual Meeting
Honors & Awards

NATA Honors Your Work!
Dozens of NATA members have achieved a nationwide level of recognition for their outstanding work in the past year. Help us honor their accomplishments during the 61st Annual Meeting & Clinical Symposia.
Additional award recipients will continue to be announced as results become available.

2010 NATA Awards Recipients

Hall of Fame
Randy Biggerstaff, MS, ATC, LAT
Lynn Bott, MS, ATC, LAT
Frank Walters, PhD, ATC
Roy Don Wilson, posthumous (presentation deferred to 2011, per family wishes)
Keith Webster, MA, ATC
Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer
Kent Biggerstaff, ATC
Robert Casmus, MS, ATC, LAT
Tony Fitzpatrick, MA, ATC, LAT
Mark Letendre, ATC
D. Eric McDonnell, MEd, ATC, LAT
Timothy Neal, MS, ATC
Kimberly Peer, EdD, ATC, LAT
Dale Rudd, MS, ATC, CES
Patrick Sexton, EdD, ATC
Rick Shaw, MS, ATC, LAT
René Revis Shingles, PhD, ATC
Barrie Steele, MS, ATC, LAT
Katie Walsh, EdD, ATC
Athletic Trainer Service Award
Michelle Boyd, ATC
Kristine Boyle-Walker, MPT, OCS, ATC
Randall Cohen, ATC, PT
Marisa Colston, PhD, ATC
Neil Curtis, EdD, ATC
David Gish, MEd, ATC, LAT
M. Sue Guyer, DPE, ATC, LAT
Pamela Hansen, EdD, ATC
Maria Hutsick, MS, ATC, LAT
Melinda Larson, MS, ATC
Andrew Llaguno, MSEd, ATC, CSCS
Suanne Maurer-Starks, EdD, ATC
Linda Mazzoli, MS, ATC, PTA
David Orr, ATC
Robb Rehberg, PhD, ATC, NREMT
Kathleen Malone Sparks, MA, ATC, LAT
Paul Ullucci, ATC, DPT, SCS
Lawrence Venis, MEd, ATC, LAT
James Wallis, ATC, CKT1
Mike West, MS, ATC
Timothy Weston, MEd, ATC
Robb Williams, ATC
Cari Wood, ATC
Ericka Zimmerman, EdD, ATC
NATA Fellows
Craig Denegar, PhD, ATC, PT
Tom Kaminski, PhD, ATC, FACSM
Jeff Konin, PhD, ATC, PT
William Pitney, EdD, ATC
Eric Sauers, PhD, ATC
Sayers “Bud” Miller Distinguished Educator Award
Thomas W. Kaminski, PhD, ATC, FACSM
Michael R. Sitler, EdD, ATC, FNATA
Honorary Membership
Randy Schwartzberg, MD
Pietro Tonino, MD
President’s Challenge
William Clancy, MD
Gail Weldon Award of Excellence
Debra Runkle, MA, ATC, LAT
Journal of Athletic Training Kenneth L. Knight Award for the
Outstanding Research Manuscript
Winner: Steven P. Broglio, PhD, ATC: “Head Impacts During High School Football: A Biomechanical Assessment”

First Runner-Up: Brent L. Arnold, PhD, ATC: “Concentric Evertor Strength Differences and Functional Ankle Instability: A Meta-Analysis”

Second Runner-Up: Yohei Shimokochi, PhD, ATC: “The Relationships Among Sagittal-Plane Lower Extremity Moments: Implications for Landing Strategy in Anterior Cruciate Ligament Injury Prevention”

Journal of Athletic Training Clint Thompson Award for Clinical Advancement
Winner: Gregory D. Myer, PhD: “Longitudinal Assessment of Noncontact Anterior Cruciate Ligament Injury Risk Factors During Maturation in a Female Athlete: A Case Report”

First Runner-Up (tie): Leamor Kahanov, EdD, ATC, LAT: “Bilateral Pulmonary Emboli in a Collegiate Gymnast: A Case Report” and Uri Farkash, MD: “Rhabdomyolysis of the Deltoid Muscle in a Bodybuilder Using Anabolic-Androgenic Steroids: A Case Report”
CUATC Recognition
Head Athletic Trainer of the Year
Div. I: Charlie Rozanski, MEd, ATC, LAT
Div. II: Robert Cable, MS, ATC, NREMT
Div. III: Patrick Lamboni, ATC
JC/Community College: Dennis Goebel, ATC
NAIA: April Reed, MS, ATC, CSCS

Assistant Athletic Trainer of the Year
Lynette Mount, MS, ATC, LAT

Above & Beyond
Shannon Peel, MA, ATC

New Horizon Award
Christopher Murphy, ATC
Young Professionals' Committee Recognition
National Distinction Award
Scott Lawrance, MS, ATC, CSCS

District 1 - Audrey McKenzie, Portland High School, Portland, Maine

District 2 - Todd Hirsch, Governor Livingston High School, Berkley Heights, New Jersey

District 3 - Brett Gustman, Fairfax High School, Fairfax, Virginia

District 4 - Dawn Robertson, Carmel High School, Carmel, Indiana

District 5 - No eligible applicants

District 6 - All Applications incomplete

District 7 - Jeff Flack, Alhambra High School, Phoenix, Arizona

District 8 - Andy Sepulveda, Northwood High School, Irvine, California

District 9 - Paul E. Good III, Hendersonville High School, Hendersonville, Tennessee

District 10 - Chris Franklin, North Kitsap High School, Poulsbo, Washington
Jack Cramer Scholarship Winner
Jack Cramer Scholarship Winner
Jessica Trcka Hobart High School
Hobart, IN
District 4
District Finalists
Samantha Kornfeld Northern Burlington County Regional High
Columbus, NJ
District 2
Alexandra Thompson Mountain View High School
Stafford, VA
District 3
Sandy Tatro-McCollum Webster Groves High School
Webster Groves, MO
District 5
Ryan Roe Georgetown High School
Georgetown, TX
District 6
Lindsey Clemensen Ponderosa High School
Parker, CO
District 7
Nicole James Desert Oasis High School
Las Vegas, NV
District 8
Samantha McDonald Spain Park High School Hoover, AL District 9
Ariana Sheridan Klahowya Secondary School
Silverdale, WA
District 10

Convention Sponsors:
Johnson & Johnson Ossur Cramer Hibiclens