NATA to Bestow its Highest Honor During Annual Meeting in St Louis

Five certified athletic trainers to be inducted into NATA Hall of Fame

DALLAS (June 12, 2003) – The National Athletic Trainers’ Association (NATA) has announced its 2003 Hall of Fame inductees. This year’s class of five is highlighted by Robert L. Beeten (Monument, Colo.) who developed and initiated the selection process for the United States Olympic Committee (USOC) volunteer athletic trainer/physician program in 1977. Beeten served as the USOC medical director between 1976 and 2000, and acted as the head athletic trainer and medical coordinator during six different Olympics (three Summer Games & three Winter Games) from 1968 to 1984. Joining Beeten in the NATA Hall of Fame are inductees John G. Baynes (Tucson, Ariz.), Ronald J. Carroll (Jonesboro, Ark.), Robert J. Moore (San Diego, Calif.) and David H. Perrin (Greensboro, N.C.). Baynes served as the head athletic trainer at Northeastern University from 1972 to1995. He had the honor of working as the staff athletic therapist at the 1980 Winter Olympics in Lake Placid, N.Y. Baynes also gave his time as a volunteer at the Boston Marathon medical tent staff between 1976 and 1996. Carroll has been the head athletic trainer at Arkansas State University since 1976, and worked with the Arkansas state legislature to develop licensing requirements. He served as the head instructor of CPR for the Craighead County chapter of the American Red Cross from 1976 to 1999, and was a consultant for St. Bernards Regional Medical Center Sports Medicine Clinic between 1983 and 1996. Moore is currently a professor at San Diego State University in the Exercise and Nutrition Science Department. He served as the head athletic trainer at San Diego State between 1968 and 1996, and established one of the first truly coed athletic training room facilities on the West Coast. Moore was also appointed as an athletic trainer at the 1984 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles, Calif. Perrin is currently a dean and professor at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro in the School of Health & Human Performance since 2001. He previously worked at the University of Virginia as the curriculum director from 1986 to 2001. Perrin was the founding editor, Journal of Sport Rehabilitation from 1990 to 1995, and has been the editor in chief of the Journal of Athletic Training since 1996. These distinguished inductees are selected based on their contributions to the athletic training profession and the NATA. In addition, each member has a minimum of 25 years of service and leadership, making the Hall of Fame a true mark of distinction. “These certified athletic trainers represent many years of truly remarkable contributions to our profession and sports medicine in general,” said National Athletic Trainers’ Association President Julie Max, Med, ATC, head athletic trainer at California State University, Fullerton. “We are very proud to acknowledge these members with the highest of professional honors – induction into our Hall of Fame.” The Hall of Fame presentation will be made at a June 27 awards luncheon during NATA’s 54th Annual Meeting & Clinical Symposia in St. Louis, Mo. “These gentlemen represent the best the profession has to offer ... they have worked with every level of athlete and physically active individual and have set the bar high for future generations of athletic trainers," said NATA Honors & Awards Committee Chair Tom Abdenour, MA, ATC. "It is truly an privilege to add them to the NATA Hall of Fame." Abdenour is the athletic trainer for the Golden State Warriors. About NATA: Certified athletic trainers (ATCs) are medical professionals who specialize in the prevention, assessment, treatment and rehabilitation of injuries and illnesses that occur to athletes and the physically active. The National Athletic Trainers' Association represents and supports the more than 30,000 members of the athletic training profession through education and research. People interested in learning more about the athletic training profession are encouraged to visit NATA’s Web site at NATA To Bestow Highest Honor

Share this